Coverart for item
The Resource A door in the earth, Amy Waldman

A door in the earth, Amy Waldman

Label
A door in the earth
Title
A door in the earth
Statement of responsibility
Amy Waldman
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of Cutting for Stone and The Reluctant Fundamentalist, a "breathtaking and achingly nuanced" (Kirkus, starred review) new novel from the author of the national bestseller The Submission about the journey of a young Afghan-American woman trapped between her ideals and the complicated truth. "One of the essential books of the post-9/11 era." --George Packer, author of The Unwinding Parveen Shamsa, a college senior in search of a calling, feels pulled between her charismatic and mercurial anthropology professor and the comfortable but predictable Afghan-American community in her Northern California hometown. When she discovers a bestselling book called Mother Afghanistan, a memoir by humanitarian Gideon Crane that has become a bible for American engagement in the country, she is inspired. Galvanized by Crane's experience, Parveen travels to a remote village in the land of her birth to join the work of his charitable foundation. When she arrives, however, Crane's maternity clinic, while grandly equipped, is mostly unstaffed. The villagers do not exhibit the gratitude she expected to receive. And Crane's memoir appears to be littered with mistakes, or outright fabrications. As the reasons for Parveen's pilgrimage crumble beneath her, the U.S. military, also drawn by Crane's book, turns up to pave the solde road to the village, bringing the war in their wake. When a fatal ambush occurs, Parveen must decide whether her loyalties lie with the villagers or the soldiers - and she must determine her own relationship to the truth. Amy Waldman, who reported from Afghanistan for the New York Times after 9/11, has created a taut, propulsive novel about power, perspective, and idealism, brushing aside the dust of America's longest-standing war to reveal the complicated truths beneath. A Door in the Earth is the rarest of books, one that helps us understand living history through poignant characters and unforgettable storytelling
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1969-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Waldman, Amy
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Afghan American women
  • Afghan War, 2001-
  • Afghanistan
Label
A door in the earth, Amy Waldman
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 387)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
388 pages
Isbn
9780316451574
Lccn
bl2019018267
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Label
A door in the earth, Amy Waldman
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 387)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
388 pages
Isbn
9780316451574
Lccn
bl2019018267
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia

Library Locations

    • Nichols LibraryBorrow it
      200 W. Jefferson, Naperville, IL, 60540
      41.772304 -88.151935
Processing Feedback ...