Coverart for item
The Resource Beasts made of night, Tochi Onyebuchi.[Axis 360 electronic resource]

Beasts made of night, Tochi Onyebuchi.[Axis 360 electronic resource]

Label
Beasts made of night
Title
Beasts made of night
Statement of responsibility
Tochi Onyebuchi.[Axis 360 electronic resource]
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • iBooks Most Anticipated YA Books of the Fall io9's All the Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Keep On Your Radar This Fall BuzzFeed's 22 YA Novels You'll Want To Read From Cover To Cover This FallA 2017 BookExpo Buzz Book A Junior Library Guild Selection "...Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic."--VOYA, Starred Review"...A paean to an emerging black legend."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor. In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts--lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj's livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family. When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he's suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves--and his own life
  • After he eats the sin of a royal, Taj, a talented aki, or sin-eater, who consumes the guilt of others, is drawn into a plot to destroy the city and must fight to save the princess he loves and his own life
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Onyebuchi, Tochi
Dewey number
  • [Fic]
  • [Fic]
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Intended audience
HL750L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
  • UG
  • UG
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Prentice Onayemi
Reading level
  • 5.0
  • 5.0
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Onayemi, Prentice
Study program name
  • Accelerated Reader AR
  • Accelerated Reader
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Guilt
  • Monsters
  • Sin
  • Guilt
Target audience
juvenile
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Beasts made of night, Tochi Onyebuchi.[Axis 360 electronic resource]
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Downloadable audio file
  • "Books on Tape."
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • unknown
  • not applicable
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525524922
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
0020456554
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)1008962803
System details
Requires Axis 360 app
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Beasts made of night, Tochi Onyebuchi.[Axis 360 electronic resource]
Publication
Note
  • Downloadable audio file
  • "Books on Tape."
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • unknown
  • not applicable
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 audio file)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780525524922
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
0020456554
Quality assurance targets
unknown
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)1008962803
System details
Requires Axis 360 app
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • VirtualBorrow it
      3015 Cedar Glade Dr, Naperville, IL, 60564
      41.709086 -88.202027
Processing Feedback ...